Tuesday, January 16, 2018

PROMO Blitz: Asleep From Day by @damiella read an #excerpt




Contemporary/General Fiction
Date Published: January 10th, 2018

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png


Astrid can’t remember the best day of her life: yesterday.

A traumatic car accident erases Astrid’s memories of September 9th, the day she spent with an oddly charming stranger named Theo. Ever since, she’s been haunted by surreal dreams and an urgent sense that she’s forgotten something important. One night, she gets a mysterious call from Oliver, who knows more about her than he should and claims he can help her remember. She accepts his help, even as she questions his motives and fights a strange attraction to him.

In order to find Theo and piece together that lost day in September, Astrid must navigate a maze of eccentric Boston nightlife, from the seedy corners of Chinatown to a drug-fueled Alice-in-Wonderland-themed party to a club where everyone dresses like the dead. In between headaches and nightmares, she struggles to differentiate between memory, fantasy, and reality, and starts to wonder if Theo really exists. Eventually, she’ll need to choose between continuing her search for him or following her growing feelings for Oliver. Astrid might go to extreme lengths to find what she’s lost . . . or might lose even more in her pursuit to remember (like her sanity).



 “A compelling and original take on the classic amnesia tale . . . The narrative bursts with detailed, vivid characters . . . The dialogue is expertly crafted.” – The BookLife Prize

“Simply riveting from start to finish... a captivating, literary piece that winds a path somewhere between mystery, romance, and psychological thriller.” – D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review



Excerpt



What’s the last thing you remember?

A rumble, a static rush, the world on a dimmer switch.

Outside, everything was gray.

But inside, a galaxy of color and light. Fireflies behind my eyes, neon in my bones. A nerve net of bioluminescence.

Radiant with hope. Glorious.

Do you know where you are?

In the heart of a storm. Give me lightning. Give me the flood. I’ve bled the sky of pigment, devoured its clouds. They remain like honey on my tongue, crystalized with promise. Nothing was ever sweeter.

What happened?

Something incredible.

Something terrible.

No more color. Fade to grey.

I’ve been robbed of this elation.

Stay with me.



---

I have the weirdest taste in my mouth. Metallic, like I’ve been sucking on pennies, and spicy—no, not spicy. Stinging. Blood. What the—? I move my tongue and feel tiny pebbles. They’re sharp, cutting my gums and the insides of my cheeks. Not pebbles. Teeth? No. Glass.

I turn to spit out pieces of broken glass, but there’s something around my neck and I can’t move it. Okay, don’t panic. I push the glass out of my mouth with the tip of my tongue and pieces roll down my chin on a trail of saliva and blood. Now let’s turn on a light in here.

I open my eyes. Huh.

What is this place? There are shelves of equipment, strange monitors, dials, wires. Some kind of . . . storage room? The image blurs and wobbles. If my head is a handheld camera, whoever’s operating it has a serious case of the shakes. I can’t get a steady picture and I have no idea what this place is.

Have I been kidnapped?

That thought should trigger some modicum of fear. But it’s like I’m trapped in a block of ice and fear is on the other side of it. I can barely muster any curiosity to figure out where I am. The rest of it—how I got here, if I’m safe, hurt, etc.—will have to wait.

So let’s see. The room is tiny, and moving, and noisy. There are beeps, the hiss and tinny chatter of a walkie-talkie, the looped bellow of a siren.

Seriously, where am I?

Nowhere good, a black whisper warns, and a fog in my mind parts, clearing a path for fear, the belated guest.

The image finally snaps into focus and it registers: an ambulance.

Why the fuck am I in an ambulance?

I sit up with a—nope, I can only lift my head maybe an inch.

Why aren’t you panicking more?

Because it’s getting foggy inside my head again and blurry outside of it. I could really use a nap. It’s so chilly in here. And bright. Might as well close my eyes and deal with this in the morning. Ah, the dark is much better.

Hang on. Let’s get some questions answered first, maybe make sure I’m not missing any limbs. I try to sit up again and a hand on my shoulder prevents me from rising any further. No, it’s not just the hand. I’m strapped in.

“Nice to see you coming around, but don’t try to sit up. My name is Leo and I’m a paramedic. Do you know today’s date?”

I squint but can’t make out the face above me.

“September ninth, 1999,” I mumble.

“It’s actually September tenth,” he corrects me. Close enough.

“What happened? Am I hurt?” Of course you’re hurt, genius. I doubt you’re tied to a gurney, with a mouthful of glass, just joyriding in an ambulance.

“It’s going to be okay, Astrid, we’re almost at the hospital.”

How does this guy know my name? Why am I going to the hospital? Because that’s usually the drop-off destination of ambulances. Try to keep up here. What happened to me?

My head is so damn heavy. Back down it goes, more blood, more spit trickling out of the corners of my mouth. I form words but can’t speak them. I manage a garbled whisper, but it’s drowned out by sirens, rattling noises, and the tapping of heavy rain on the ambulance roof.

I need to take stock. I’m mostly immobile, but am I paralyzed? I try to wiggle the toes. Okay, those work fine. Fingers? The ones on the left hand move then seize up in pain. Blinded? Obviously not, but my vision is still fuzzy at the edges. Obviously, I can’t move my head much, but I shouldn’t anyway, in case I have a concussion. Or worse. Go away, black whisper, I don’t need you scaring the shit out of me right now.

Back to my self-assessment. Do I feel pain anywhere else in my body? Now that I mention it, hell yes. Where? Everywhere, especially my left side.

Why can’t I remember how this happened? I keep asking the paramedic, but he won’t tell me. Why won’t he answer me?

Oh yeah, because he can’t actually hear me. Because my lips are barely moving and no sound is coming out.

It’s an effort to form any more words or keep my eyes open. Is there a cold, heavy blanket over me? Uh-oh, those blurry edges are going dark. It’s like someone pushed me into a deep well and I’m falling in slow motion.

“Try to stay awake, Astrid.”

Fingers snap in front of my face.

Cut it out, ambulance man. You’re messing up my nap. It’s so much nicer with my eyes closed. All you do is boss me around with “Don’t sit up” this and “Stay awake” that. The darkness is quiet and doesn’t make annoying demands.

“Astrid. Astrid!”

His voice is like a megaphone in my ear. Where is your mute button, ambulance man?

I think I found it. It’s here, further down in the dark.

I hear two voices, growing fainter as they speak.

“She’s out again, but vitals are stable.”

I’m not out, yet, ambulance man. Give a girl a break, would ya? It’s not my fault I have anvils on my eyelids. Besides, the light in here is too bright. And you are too loud. But I can still hear you fine . . . Mostly . . . Kind of . . .

“You’d think people would know not to drive like assholes in this kind of rain.”

“What is this, third one today?”

“Fourth. You hear about the wreck by the BQE? Five cars and a motorcycle. Two fatalities.”

“This one got lucky.”

“So to speak.”

“So to speak.”

“Want to get breakfast after this?”

“It’s lunchtime.”

“So? I want breakfast. Couldn’t you go for some French toast or pancakes?”

“Maybe eggs. Some strong coffee, bacon . . .”

“Extra bacon.”

How about taking my order, ambulance man? I’ll have—

Darkness.






About the Author


Margarita Montimore received a BFA in Creative Writing from Emerson College. She worked for over a decade in publishing and social media before deciding to focus on the writing dream full-time. She has blogged for Marvel, Google, Quirk Books, and XOJane.com. When not writing, she freelances as a book coach and editor. She grew up in Brooklyn but currently lives in a different part of the Northeast with her husband and dog.



Contact Links

Twitter  


Purchase Links

Universal  (all buy links can be found here)


RABT Book Tours & PR

Sunday, January 14, 2018

Tour Wrap Up: Scintillate by @KTjebbenAuthor #giveaway



Young Adult Supernatural Romantic Thriller

Date Published: November 2013

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png



Kate Archer is instantly drawn to Nick. He's handsome, smart, and interested in her - perhaps a little too interested according to Kate's brother. It's a good thing Nick is interested, or Kate would have died the night of the football game. Nick may have rescued Kate, but he can't stop the inevitable. Kate is changing; she just doesn't know it. She can't explain the visions and sensations affecting her body, but she can enjoy the pleasure of Nick's kiss - that is, until she learns the real reason he is with her. Betrayed by her genetics, Kate begins a metamorphosis that forces her to confront an unseen reality and claim her true destiny.


This novel has a current Amazon Rating of 4.1*'s.
Get your copy free with Kindle Unlimited!  


Amazon  


Did you miss any of the stops on this Tour?

January 1 - Chosen By You Book Club - Excerpt
January 2 - Laurie's Thoughts and Reviews - Guest Post
January 2 - Share My Destiny - Excerpt
January 3 - Summer Sopus - Review
January 4 - Adventures Thru Wonderland - Review
January 5 - Celebrating Authors - Spotlight
January 7 - Beach Bound Books - Spotlight
January 8 - YA Book Divas - Excerpt
January 9 - Mello and June - Spotlight
January 10 - Jazzy's Book Reviews - Excerpt
January 13 - Libreria Beppe - Spotlight




Story time always captivated Karen.  As a child, she fell in love with books that transported her to different worlds and introduced her to new creatures. As a teacher, she encouraged her students to explore different times and new worlds through literature.  Now, when Karen isn’t living in reality with her husband and daughters, she can be found creating an alternate reality filled with creatures and worlds that she hopes will delight and raise goose bumps on her readers.


Where to find Karen Tjebben 




RABT Book Tours & PR

Friday, January 12, 2018

Tour Wrap Up: Sid Sanford Lives! by @danielfford #literary #fiction #wrapup




Literary Fiction
Date Published:  9/18/2017
Publisher: 50/50 Press

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png 

Sid Sanford always follows a path, just not his own. From backyard Wiffle ball games to New York City skyscrapers, Sid finds triumph and pain in equal measure during his uncertain, and at times violent, thrust into manhood. A colorful, loyal family, a plethora of eccentric friends, and a few star-crossed soulmates highlight his journey, but it’s ultimately up to Sid whether his destiny fulfills his potential or drowns in the bottom of a bottle.





Current Amazon Rating of 4.8*'s! 

Barnes and Noble


Did you miss any of the stops on this Tour?

November 20 - Introspective Press - Spotlight
November 20 - A Place in the Spotlight - Spotlight
November 21 - Laurie's Thoughts and Reviews - Guest Post
November 22 - Celebrating Authors - Spotlight
November 24 - Readsalot - Excerpt
November 24 - Defining Ways - Spotlight
November 24 - Stuffed With Lurv - Spotlight
November 25 - Chosen By You Book Club - Excerpt
November 26 - The Avid Reader - Spotlight
November 27 - The Bookworm Lodge - Spotlight
November 28 - Bound 2 Escape - Excerpt
November 29 - Book Addict - Spotlight
November 30 - A Life Through Books - Interview
December 1 - Momma and Her Stories - Excerpt
December 4 - My Reading Addiction - Interview
December 5 - Jazzy's Book Reviews - Excerpt
December 6 - The Indie Express - Review
December 8 - Stephanie's Book Reviews - Spotlight
December 11 - Texas Book Nook - Review 
December 12 - Tea Time and Books - Spotlight
December 13 - On a Reading Bender - Review
December 14 - T's Stuff - Spotlight
December 19 - Bookworm Paradize - Spotlight
December 20 - Truly Trendy - Spotlight
December 21 - Novel News Network - Review
December 23 - Mello and June - Spotlight
December 26 - Author Addison Albright - Excerpt
December 27 - Book Junkie Mom - Spotlight
January 2 - Momma and Her Stories - Review
December 3 - My Reading Addiction - Review
January 5 - Novel News Network - Spotlight
January 8 - Cali Book Reviews - Spotlight
January 9 - Books are Love - Excerpt
January 11 - A Life Through Books - Review
January 11 - Books Direct - Review
January 11 - The Indie Express - Spotlight



Daniel Ford is an author, journalist, and the co-founder/co-host of Writer’s Bone, a literary website and podcast that champions aspiring authors and screenwriters. Sid Sanford Lives! is his debut novel. Ford lives with his fiancĂ©e Stephanie in Boston, Mass. He can often be found coaxing words out of a half-empty bourbon glass.




Contact Links



RABT Book Tours & PR

Tour Wrap Up: Moxie's Problem by @hanque99 #review #fantasy




Fantasy
Date Published: August 8, 2014

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Do you like fantasy coming-of-age stories?

You won’t find one more unusual or more humorous than Moxie’s Problem.


Moxie is an obnoxious, teenage princess who has led a sheltered life. Until now. She struggles to come to grips with reality. This fantasy comedy takes place against a backdrop of Camelot. But it’s a Camelot in a parallel universe.

In Moxie’s Problem, Moxie, a teenage princess, leaves her father’s castle for the first time to travel to her betroth’s home. She is escorted by three Knights of the Round Table, Percivale, Gareth and Bors. Along the way Moxie is stunned by the real world, so different from life in the castle. For one thing, the knights ignore her demands and her commands. They expect her to sleep on the ground, get up at dawn and eat what they can catch or find. Moxie notices how independent they are. The knights do what has to be done whether it’s deciding on a route or fighting brigands. Moxie realizes she hasn’t been trained to do anything. She doesn’t have a life.

When Moxie finally meets her betrothed, she hates him on sight, refuses to marry him, breaks the engagement and demands the knights to escort her home. Percivale and the others are reluctant to spend more time with Moxie but finally agree.

Moxie and the three knights suffer through more adventures together as she gradually puts together a plan to make something of her life. Moxie decides she wants to be the queen after her father dies. But her father refuses to name her as successor. Her uncle also wants the crown and tries to eliminate Moxie’s competition.

Meanwhile, Camelot strives to defeat the vicious Saxons on the football field.  Merlin, a wizard, investigates the ‘Magic of the Mind’ using primitive Rorschach charts and Stonehenge is a theater-in-the-round. Sir Tristan writes a play that sounds like something Shakespeare will write a thousand years later. The three knights when not escorting Moxie go on quests in Sherwood Forest and what is now Scotland.


Current Amazon Rating of 4.4*'s.
Get your copy for just $0.99!



Did you miss any of the stops on this Tour?

January 2 - Cloe Michaels Reads
January 3 - Texas Book Nook
January 4 -The Indie Express
January 9 - My Reading Addiction
January 10 - Novel News Network
January 11 - Momma and Her Stories
January 12 - On a Reading Bender

About the Author

Hank Quense writes humorous and satiric scifi and fantasy stories. He also writes about fiction writing and self-publishing. He has published 18 books and 50 short stories along with a few dozen articles. He often lectures on fiction writing and publishing and has a series of guides covering the basics on each subject. He is currently working on a series of two humorous novels that take place in the Camelot era.
He and his wife, Pat, usually vacation in another galaxy or parallel universe. They also time travel occasionally when Hank is searching for new story ideas.

To get informed about Hank's new stories, subscribe to his email list. Use this link: http://eepurl.com/ca87ET You'll get a free copy of one of his novels when you do.

Contact Links


RABT Book Tours & PR

Friday, January 5, 2018

Tour Wrap Up: The War Ender's Apprentice by @E_Guizzetti




Fantasy
Date Published: October 31, 2017
Publisher: ZB Publications

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

In the chaotic universe, many intelligent species are on the brink of war, but the Guild holds the violence at bay to foster peaceful trade. The most renowned War Ender is Lady Alana of House Eyreid. Alana hopes to train her beloved nephew, Roark, in her vocation.

It was supposed to be a simple training mission aboard an Interrealm slave ship. However, when Alana find her people enslaved, she murders the crew and rescues every slave—whether criminal, dishonored, or stolen. A fleeting vision of Roark's future tells her to offer the newly freed Eohan a War Ender’s education.

For her vision to come true, Alana must rescue Eohan’s young brother who was sold in the last port and lost somewhere in the Realms, but first, they have a war to end.



This novel has a current Amazon Rating of 4.7*'s.
Get your copy FREE with Kindle Unlimited. 



Did you miss any of the stops on this Tour?

December 11 - Laurie's Thoughts and Reviews - Guest Post
December 13 - Evermore Books - Excerpt
December 15 - Mello and June - Spotlight
December 18 - A Life Through Books - Interview
December 19 - Texas Book Nook - Review
December 20 - Celebrating Authors - Spotlight
December 21 - Stephanie's Book Reviews - Spotlight
December 22 - Book Addict - Spotlight
December 23 - Chosen By You Book Club - Excerpt
December 26 - Tea Time and Books - Spotlight
December 27 - Jazzy's Book Reviews - Spotlight
December 28 - Logikal Blog - Spotlight
December 29 - The Avid Reader - Excerpt
December 30 - Bound 2 Escape - Spotlight
January 2 - The Indie Express - Review
January 3 - Novel News Network - Review
January 4 - Libreria Beppe - Spotlight
January 4 - Beach Bound Books - Guest Post
January 5 - Coffee Crochet Books - Spotlight




Much to her chagrin, Elizabeth Guizzetti discovered she was not a cyborg and growing up to be an otter would be impractical, so she began writing stories. Guizzetti currently lives in Seattle with her husband and two dogs. When not writing, she loves hiking and birdwatching.

She is the author and illustrator of independent comics: Faminelands and Lure and Out for Souls&Cookies! Her debut novel, Other Systems, was a 2015 Finalist for the Canopus Award for excellence in Interstellar Fiction. She continues to write science fiction, horror, and fantasy novels. Chronicles of the Martlet is her first novella series.


Contact Links




RABT Book Tours & PR